KWC: The Election

Here lie the stories of contests past, find your old story posts here.
FunKelly

KWC: The Election

Post by FunKelly »

"HOW FAR WOULD YOU GO TO GET ELECTED"

My name is Amber. I am a eighteen year old student at the "Oregon Academy of the Progressive Arts". The school is a small academy in rural Oregon, specializing in the subjects of 'Progressive Arts and Literature'. The academy is basically a one year continuing education program, for students that need an extra year between high school and college, to decide where best to pursue their basic interest and education. There are only five classes available at the academy. 1) Poetry. 2) Introduction to Novel Writing. 3) Journalism. 4) Painting and Sketching, along with, 5) Theatre. Both the 'Painting' and 'Drawing' classes included sessions of 'Life Modeling', and the theatre productions, more often than not, include full nudity.

Each class had a maximum of thirty pupils. After 150 students had been enrolled for the year, the registrations were closed. Most of the students were from different areas of the country, but some were local. Many chose 'The Academy', because their conservative parents couldn't understand their liberal world views, and needed to create some space between themselves and their parents. Many just wanted to attend 'The Academy' to experience the liberating freedom of such a progressive, non-judgmental atmosphere, while deciding what was the best career path for them. Having a full extra year, allowed many of the students, the time and opportunity, to also explore their sexual identities. I was enrolled in the Journalism program by my own choosing. I wanted to be a free-lance journalist and travel the world, but needed to take some time to assess my opportunities, while focusing on my future in journalism, and the academy seemed the best place to do that.